91–824 – 2204300/01/02/03/04

In 1979, seven committed persons, all sharing the same concern to the cause of education and community development, under the leadership and guidance of Justice K S Hegde formed an association. Justice Hegde, conceived the idea of a trust, which would provide basic education, health care and train manpower. Thus, was born the Nitte Education Trust. It was formally baptised on August 30, 1979.

Justice K S Hegde, the founder was the prime mover of the Trust.

Over the last three decades of concerted efforts and dedication, the Nitte Education Trust has come to be recognised as one of the finest educational organisations in the State, attracting students from all over the country and abroad.


In recognition of our excellence in education and service to the community, the MHRD conferred the status of Deemed-to-be University vide its notification No. F.9-13/2007-U.3 (A), Government of India, Ministry of Human Resource Development,  (Department of Higher Education) dated 4th June, 2008. A B Shetty Memorial Institute of Dental Sciences, the 25 year old dental college was the first constituent college of Nitte University. The college offers 3 courses, B.D.S, M.D.S and Ph.D. The postgraduate course that is, M.D.S is offered in 8 specialities.

Subsequently, in 2009 the UGC vide its notification No. F.26-5/2008 (CPP-I), University Grants Commission, dated 24th March, 2009 brought K S Hegde Medical Academy, NGSM Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Nitte Institute of Physiotherapy and Nitte Usha Institute of Nursing Sciences under the ambit of the Nitte University. With this, the University has 5 institutions all engaged in the areas of education and research in health sciences.